NorthCarolinaDWILawyer.Net



North Carolina DWI DMV Hearing

North Carolina DWI DMV Hearing
If you are arrested for driving while intoxicated (DWI) in the state of North Carolina, it is important to realize that your future driving privileges may be at stake. Under state law, any person who is arrested for DWI will face an automatic license suspension. Although you have the opportunity to appeal this sentence by requesting a North Carolina DWI DMV hearing, most drivers must have professional legal representation to avoid losing their license.

When you are charged with DWI, the arresting officer will immediately report your offense to the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV). Once this happens, you have only 10 days to retain your driving privileges; otherwise, it will be automatically suspended for 30 days–regardless of the outcome of your criminal DWI case.

Fortunately, many drivers who are arrested for DWI are eligible for limited driving privileges. However, in order to qualify for this, state law requires you to schedule a hearing with the DMV. At this proceeding, an official from the Department of Motor Vehicles will review the evidence of your case to determine whether your driving privileges should remain intact. Because this hearing does not automatically occur, you must request it within 10 days after your arrest.

To request a North Carolina DWI DMV hearing, you must complete a number of forms and documentation beforehand, as well as show proof of insurance, complete an alcohol assessment program, and maintain a detailed work log. You must also prove that you had a valid driver’s license at the time you were arrested and have no pending DWI charges if you want to qualify for a restricted license.

Because DWI DMV hearings are notoriously difficult to win, it is important to seek legal representation to ensure you have a strong defense during this proceeding. An experienced DWI defense attorney will not only determine the best tactics for your situation, but also complete the necessary paperwork for your hearing and ensure you have fulfilled all of the eligibility requirements within the necessary time limitations.

If you were recently arrested for DWI in North Carolina, make sure you discuss your case with an experienced DWI attorney in your area today. Remember, if the DMV finds you guilty of drunk driving, you may be stuck without a license for 30 days or more. Give yourself the best chances of avoiding this frustration—complete a free online case evaluation today to locate an attorney who specializes in drunk driving defense.